On July 28, 2015 the Paraguayan Executive Branch appointed Carlos Alberto Filartiga Lacroix, Miguel Osmar Núñez Figueredo and Fabrizio Augusto Castiglioni Serafini as members of the board of directors of the National Antitrust Commission (“CONACOM”).

The CONACOM board has powers to prohibit and penalize conduct hindering competition, authorize or deny concentration transactions, keep records of concentrations, investigate punishable conduct affecting competition, etc.

While CONACOM and the current legal system regulating competition were created by law in 2013 and regulated by Executive Decree in 2014, to date the government had not taken any action for application of the rules. The appointment of the CONACOM Board members is an essential step toward effective and operative antitrust regulation.


Néstor Loizaga: nloizaga@ferrere.com